Research Entry 6

May 24, 2010

My revision strategy is called “Finding Focusing Questions” This exercise aids in finding areas to expand on by trying to create more questions to be answered throughout the paper.

This exercise asked me to first write down what i originally wanted to learn from the research, and why I first chose this topic. I was also asked to write down all the background information I knew before starting the essay.The most important part of this exercise is what comes next, the brainstorm. This step I was asked to write down all the new questions that have been raised. With all these new questions I can now expand a little more and bring more to the essay.

I had already thought of quite a few questions, but was glad to see I came up with a few more. This will give my next draft more points to use and expand on. This exercise also made me think of a source I found back in the preliminary research step that previously seemed irrelevant but may now be of some help.

I should be able to include these questions I came up with and put this exersize to use to expand my essay and give it more points to go off of.

Comments:

Journal Entry #5

Classical Arrangement!

4 Responses to “Research Entry 6”


  1. Hey Brian,
    This seemed like a very useful revision strategy and I am glad this has been efficient for you. It’s cool how just by thinking of a whole bunch of questions can really help add to the abundance of information to an essay and can even help to shed some light on ideas that were never discovered before. Good luck with finishing up your second draft!

  2. matterson89 Says:

    Sounds like this revision strategy worked well for you. I probably would have used the same strategy if I had not been lacking a thesis. The exercise appears to be similar to the one I did, but with a lot more questions. I am interested to know what kinds of questions you came up with?

  3. Jamie Waddle Says:

    Some times coming up with quesitons is the hardest part when you know that you are interested in your topic but it could be hard to pinpoint the parts that you are most interested in. I am trying to do that with my paper as well. Hopefully you will be able to include the questions and answers that you have collected and add them into your paper


Leave a comment